What’s Happening To EU Roaming?

Now that the UK has left the EU a lot of things are changing… including the way you use your phone abroad. Roaming charges are back in full force and we are here to break down what that means for you.

EU Roaming Charges Are Coming Back! 

Regardless of which network you were on, you would have enjoyed inclusive EU Roaming since June 2017 when roaming fees inside the EU were abolished as part of European Law.  This meant that when you travelled within the EU you could continue to make use of your calls and data allowance as if you were in the UK (subject to a fair usage policy in some cases). 

EU roaming

But WHY Are We Losing Free EU Roaming? 

Roaming was not included in the UK’s withdrawal agreement from the EU, meaning European and British operators are now under no obligation to offer tariff-free use when subscribers use their phone abroad.   

This Sounds Expensive!  What Will This Mean To Me Financially? 

Vodafone, EE and Three have all announced an end date when they will reimplement roaming fees.  After this, there is a general trend that the networks will charge £2 a day for roaming inside the EU.  Tariffs vary and charges outside of the EU also vary with the average being closer to £5 a day. 

EU roaming

Does This Affect Everyone?

The new rates will affect anyone who begins a new contract or upgrades after the Lock In Deadline dates set by the Networks.  If you manage to secure your contract before the Lock In Deadline you will be considered an Existing customer and existing customers will not be subject to the new Roaming Charges until they upgrade. 

Which Countries Will Be Affected?

The full list of countries affected by the EU roaming charges from January 2022 is:

Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus (excludes northern Cyprus), Czech Republic, Canary Islands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, San Marino, Saint Martin (French), Saint Barthelemy, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City (Italy).

What Will I Be Charged To Roam If I Didn’t Make The Deadline? 

If you upgrade or connect after the Lock In Dates, you will be subject to fees as follows: 

Inside EUOutside EU
EE£2 per dayVaries
Three £2 per day £5 per day
Vodafone £2 per day
(£1 per day on an 8 day pass)

“Inside EU” = 47 countries for EE, 49 countries for Vodafone, 47 countries for Three 

When Will I Be Charged For EU Roaming?

Different networks have announced different dates for when the new roaming charges will apply:

Date Roaming Fees Commence
EE January 2022
Three 23rd May 2022
Vodafone 6th January 2022

Now You Know How To Roam

We hope this explains why EU roaming is changing so you know what to look out for the next time you book a trip outside of the UK in 2022. Don’t let roaming take you off guard, be prepared. Click Here to read more about the new changes. And if you missed the deadline then don’t be afraid to contact us directly at Businessmobiles.com and we can answer any remaining questions you may have for us.

Happy Roaming!

Related Posts

Open chat
Hello 👋 Can we help you?